Commencements set for Sunday

Area high schools will hold commencement exercises this Sunday, May 21.


Commencement exercises for 54 Odebolt-Arthur/Battle Creek-Ida Grove seniors will be at 2 p.m. in the high school gymnasium.

The program will begin with prelude music and the processional “Pomp and Circumstance” performed by the O-A/BC-IG High School band, under the direction of Benjamin Mauritz.

Superintendent Terry Kenealy will welcome the audience.

Senior choir members will sing “Until We Sing Again” by Greg Gilpin. Jacob Pedersen will direct the choir.

O-A/BC-IG High School Principal Patrick Miller will present the seniors with their scholastic recognition awards and then recognize/address of the valedictorian and salutatorian.

 Odebolt-Arthur Board President Joey Hoefling and BC-IG School Board President Stephanie Konradi will distribute the diplomas.

Miller will present the graduates to the audience, followed by the recessional.

The seniors have chosen black, purple and silver for their class colors. The class flower is the aster. The class song is “May We All” by Florida Georgia Line.

The class motto is “Together we have experienced life. Separately we will pursue our dreams. Forever our memories will remain.”

This year’s graduates are Elliott Bengford, Robert Brewer, Sydney Buehler, Wheylin Carlin, Kelsie Cedeno, Parker Clausen, Meghan Densmore, Marzia Fineran-Shivers, Elyssa Freese, Devon Fritz and Alex German.

Also, Adam Grote, Amanda Gunderson, Quest Hack, Dallas Hare, Bree Henningsen, Aedan Hickey, Grace Holmes, Katelyn Johnson, Rhett Ketelsen, Baylee Knop, Catherine Kolpin and Jillian Ludwig.

Also, Andrew Mace, Gabe Malcom, Clayton Mandernach, Taylor Marshall, Amelia Masters, Elle McCormick, Jeren McKibbin, Carrie Miller, Vandy Mosier, Brenna Neville, Summit Nielsen, Courtney Peters and Skylar Reis.

Also, Hayden Roeder, Autumn Rohlk, Trey Rohlk, Mally Sangpanjun, Brandon Schwade, Tristian Senhen, Caitlin Sholty, Riley Snyder, Tyler Sohm, Stephen Stangl, Adam Stephen, Alexia Thomas, Hannah Veit, Cole Veltri, Skyler Wareham, Jesse Wilson, Dylan Wunschel and Suey Wyatt.

Ridge View

Commencement exercises for 40 Ridge View seniors will be Sunday, May 21 at 2 p.m. in the high school gymnasium.

The program begins with the high school band performing processional “Fanfare and Processional” (Pomp and Circumstance) by Edward Elgar/James D. Ployhar. Tom Musel directs the band.

Ridge View superintendent Jon Wiebers will welcome guests.

High School Principal Bret Warnke will introduce valedictorian Cole Degen and salutatorian Amanda Bruns, who will give a brief address.

The choir members will sing “I Hope You Dance” by Lee Ann Womack.

Warnke will introduce commencement speaker Kenneth Seifried and the Class of 2017.

G-H Board President Jamie Whitmer and Schaller-Crestland Board President Alan Movall will confer the diplomas, followed by the high school band performing the recessional.

The graduates will present flowers to their loved ones followed by the high school band playing the recessional.

The seniors have chosen black, gold and orange for their class colors. The class flower is the orange rose.

The class motto is “If there’s a will there’s a way. If there’s a quizlet, there’s an A.”—Unknown 

This year’s graduates are Caleb Anway, Alex Bailey, Samantha Bailey, Darby Baillie, Taylor Beiermann, Grace Boyle, Amanda Bruns, Tyler Crum, Cole Degen, Jordan Draper and Evan Else.

Also, Maeci Eyer, Autumn Fox, Kyle Friedrichsen, Christopher Gardner, Madisen Grieme, Andrew Gross, Eric Hibbs Jr., Alex Johnson, Sidney Johnson, Aimee Kell, Gus Leonard, JoAna Loera, Erik Major, Ryan McGuire, Karin Mendoza, Hallie Mentzer, Jack Mentzer, Madelyn Mitchell and Juan Nava.

Also, Ethan Otto, Jonathan Pickhinke, Randy Redding, Joseph Sokolowski, Samuel Stadler, Katrina Van Norman, Harlee Wagoner, Caden Wandrey, Tyler Wingert and Colton Wunschel.